The most important moment of student in the School of Witchcraft and Wizardry is the sorting ceremony – an event which happens at the start of every year and sorts young wizards into houses. Sorting is done by the Sorting Hat – a hat made by four founders of Hogwarts. It is placed on top of wizard’s head and it reads the personality of a young student. Then it places a wizard into one of the four houses:

1) Gryffindor – house of the brave. Its emblematic animal is the lion and its colors are scarlet and gold. The founder of the house is Godric Gryffindor. This house corresponds to the element of fire and is placed on the seventh floor in the east wing. The doors are guarded by a portait of a fat lady. Gryffindor was a house for Albus Dumbledore and the Harry Potter himself.

2) Hufflepuff – house of the hard working. Its animal is the badger and its colors are yellow and black. Its founder is Helga Hufflepuff. House of hufflepuff corresponds to the element of earth. House is located somewhere in the basement near the kitchen. It was a house of Artemisia Lufkin and Newt Scamander.

3) Ravenclaw – house of the intelligent. Its animal is the eagle and its colors are blue and bronze. The founder of the house is Rowena Ravenclaw and the house itself corresponds to the element of air.  Common room of Ravenclaw is located in a tower on the west side of a castle. It was a house of Glideroy Lockhearth and Ignatia Wildsmith.

4) Slytherin – house of the ambitious. Its emblematic animal is a serpent. The color of Slytherin are emerald green and silver. Slytherin is meant to coorespond to the lement of water. The common rooms are palced in a Dungeons. Slytherin was house to Dolores Umbridge and Tom Riddle (Lord Voldemort)